Options

CCIE Journey for Junior Network Admin

pujan96pujan96 Member Posts: 121 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I was looking at getting some advice on thoughts on starting the CCIE journey whilst very new to the field.

So im a junior network admin working in an international mid sized finance business. Been in the role for about 6 months now and have attained the CCNA and PA ACE during my time.

My goal is to be a senior network engineer/architect (master of my craft) and obtain the infamous CCIE cert.

Now I know paperwork means nothibg beyond HR, and experience is key, but i was hoping to share my plan and wanted to get some opinions who have been through the journey, "or been round the block as one would say".

I plan on getting the CCNP completed in a year or so and then moving on to the CCIE which i plan to get in 2 years or so. By then I will have 4 or years experience in networking.

I know its said the CCIE shouldnt be attempted without 5 to 10 years experience already in the field, but let me put this forward, is it any worse than being a uni degree holder with a masters or PHD in networking (if there is one) with no world experience at all?

I know its not going to be easy, plus im not too smart to begin with ( not putting myself down, just didnt do well in school and didnt go to uni, im 21 btw) but I feel i will be able to put the countless hours before work/ after work, and on the weekends, plus putting the skills and lab sims I do whilst learning into practise at work.

So the question is this, whilst I know a CCIE with minimal experience wont be able to demand £60k upwards salary, would it be so bad for my career if i do obtain it "earlier" than usual?

I feel it can only help my career, as it will allow me to just build on the skills and knowledge from then onwards.

Thanks
[X] CCNA R&S

[X] CCNP Route 300-101
[  ] CCNP Switch 300-115
[  ] CCNP T-Shoot 300-135

[  ]  NPDESI 300-550

[  ] CCIE R&S Written
[  ] CCIE R&S LAB

Comments

• Options