Options

Tagline: "Recent Grad" vs. Experienced Professional

SoCalGuy858SoCalGuy858 Member Posts: 150 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I'm about 16 credits shy of finishing my BSCIA at WGU and this got me thinking...

I've been in the IT / security workforce since I graduated high school (seven years now), but will now soon be a "Recent Grad". I know there's tons of users on here who have been in this position and I'm curious how your newly-earned education factored into your resume branding and how it worked out for you.

Did you play up the "Recent Grad" aspect, despite having prior experience?

Did you simply add it onto your resume, but continue as an "Experienced Professional"?

Pros / cons of either avenue of approach?

I'm also curious if anybody has directly applied to / received any "Recent Grad" jobs, despite already having a sizable amount of experience.

Looking forward to hearing your stories!
LinkedIn - Just mention you're from TE!

Comments

• Options
    kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Like you, I did the cert route first, then completed my BS degree. What's your current experience in the field, and what are you looking to get out of the degree when applying for new jobs? You have the "Experienced Professional" down, question is what do you want to get into next.
  • Options
    soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I haven't been in this situation but I don't think applying to "Recent Grad" jobs is the correct path. You have experience in the field and should continue with the "Experienced Professional" type of positions. If you were getting a degree in a different field and changing careers I would change that but that's not your case here.

Those "Recent Grad" jobs will be entry level positions and you'd be "over qualified". Also, those positions are highly unlikely to match up with your salary requirements.