Options

A Certified Public Accountant pursuing CISSP needs help

yeo34thyeo34th Registered Users Posts: 6 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello Guys,

I am a CPA with only 6 months experience in IT Audit who is considering to switch career into cyber security.

I have bee studying for CISSP using AIO and Cybrary and was able to go through first two domains without much difficulties but I feel like I hit the wall at domain 3 (Security Engineering)

It appears to me that I will need to have at least basic IT/Computer science/Network fundamentals down and asking your advises on how to tackle them.

Please share your insight for website/book that provides good fundamentals and also if you think 4 months of studying with average of 25 hours a week sounds enough to prepare for the exam.

I appreciate your input in advance.

Thanks,

Alex

Comments

• Options
    SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    First, you need 5 years of experience in security (with some certs/education, you can get 1 year waiver), to be able to get the CISSP certification. It is not only an exam. However, if you pass the exam before, you can get the Associate of ISC2 title.

I think your time estimate is wrong. I have 15 years of mixed IT experience, and I took at least 150 h to study/practice this exam. I didnt need to learn basic IT/network too.
  • Options
    soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    CISSP is a rigorous information security certification and isn't for people looking to make the jump into cybersecurity but instead for those who have been practitioners/infosec managers for many years (hence the experience requirement which you're likely not to meet).

CISSP is a great longer term goal but as you are looking to transition to cybersecurity there is a better path.