Options

Working for Hedge Fund (NYC)

loss4wordsloss4words Member Posts: 165 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I will be getting a job offer today to work with a Hedge Fund in Manhattan. Job itself is Desktop Engineering (application/OS packaging and deployment, patching, etc) + work in AWS/VDI. Company is now completely in the cloud and don't host any physical servers and trying to be on bleeding edge of technology. I have 2-3 years of Desktop Engineering experience, and the reason I was looking to leave is because my company is going through a rough transition period and layoffs are happening.

New job hours are not great though: 6am - 2:30PM, which means I will be waking up at 4am to take the train. Because I'm the only one working this shift, asking for time off may present a challenge (but I'm sure they'll say they'll work around this limitation).

Recruiter I was working with said base salary is around 85K + bonus. Does this sound like fair salary working for Manhattan Hedge Fund? They will send me benefits package soon. EDIT: 401K appears to be really bad (0.20 for each dollar contributed, up to 6% salary) They want to hire fast since person working the early morning shift is unable to come in so early anymore.

Also, would love to hear any experiences working for Hedge Funds and if you think this is worth a move, or if I should keep still for now.

Comments

• Options
    jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Mind you that NYC has a high cost of living and that base salary seems real low. Did you do your due diligence and research other financial IT salaries?

And if you never worked in a financial industry, you are on call 24x7x365. So, forgot those hours. I use to work every weekend when I worked in the financial industry.
  • Options
    Thank you, jdancer. I was thinking the same, and agree with you about low base salary.