Options

Passed CISSP CAT exam on 3/14/2018

SebzzSebzz Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All, long time lurker here icon_lol.gif.

I am sharing some of the experience I gained from my CISSP journey and I hope that it can help others, especially when it is in the new CAT format.

The CAT exam was interesting, I have never taken any CAT typed exam before, and this is my first attempt in CISSP, so it was extra special to me.
The content is still based on the 2015 content, I believe the new content will begin in April's exam onward. As all the books I have are based on the 2015 content, I decided to take the exam before April.

Preparation:
For studying, I took around 1 hour each day during lunch to study and did that for 6 months. It was tough eating and studying at the same time. I am glad it paid out.
I also took a 1 week off from work to study intensely before the exam. Truthfully, that was when I did most of the studying as I absorb more information if it is linked together at one go. Any intermittent break between studying, breaks my train of thought.

Books I used:
Eleventh Hour CISSP Study Guide
This was the first book on CISSP that I read. I know this is opposite to the norm as it is usually reserved for the last, but by reading this thinner book, I got a feel of the content in various domains. As well as identifying which area that I am unfamiliar with, that I can put extra effort in.

Sybex 7th edition
After finishing the Eleventh Hour, I read through the Sybex book as it was recommended by the official CISSP website. It gives me more content to learn on, but does it feels long winded. I feel that it is way too wordy when covering on certain subjects. Maybe it was written that way to help teach students that are not experienced in the subjects, but this book took the most time of my study.

Sybex Online Practice Questions