Options

Experience & Direction

WarDoctorWarDoctor Member Posts: 18 ■■■□□□□□□□
This is my first post so forgive my ignorance. I've worked at Verizon for 21yrs, installing and repairing anything from POTS lines, DSL,ISDN,VDSL, FiOS, VoIP phones, routers & switches in residential and business environments. My current role is a FiOS installer & trainer. I am currently studying for the CCENT exam and I was wondering...

1.When I obtain the CCNA certification (particularly to resume standards), could the 21yrs of experience at Verizon correlate as routing & switching experience?

Granted 98% of the routers & switches I've worked with were not Cisco or Juniper type routers, POE or otherwise. I ask only because I believe that IMO, experience goes such a long way over just having knowledge over a subject. It's not always easy to find particular job opportunities that would relate to 'field experience' in any industry, let alone a position that pays at least the same as my current role.

And this next one is a bit of a personal question for those who wish to answer.

2. How did you decide the direction that you took when it came to the study path?

I enjoy the understanding & complexity of networks, the purpose of security, the reason for the back-haul, and everything that is yet to come to fruition. My current path beyond the CCNA certification is uncertain, but the definitive search for a better understanding will always keep me motivated.

Thanks for the ear!

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    You will notice in the CCNA study materials that you see Cisco routers and switches and not those from Netgear and Actiontec. The CCNA R/S is more of what the NetOps people in the NOCs do and not what the installers of CPE do. Start thinking like a NOC engineer and not a field service tech.