Options

So what job title would i qulify for with this degree ?

Ungadunga911Ungadunga911 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
I know its weird to ask, but im lost on what position i would qualify for after obtaining this degree. I have been told network admin, but i have no experience or certs, im trying to obtain my ccna over the summer and i have about 3 semesters left in this program and ill be finished. I just get mixed up on the job titles, all i search for is computer networking jobs on indeed and there are 500 different names for the job title.

https://home.usm.edu/academics/undergraduate-programs/information-technology

Comments

• Options
    labscloudlabscloud Member Posts: 137 ■■□□□□□□□□
    That's a BS in IT, the opportunities are endless. What will help you is coupling that degree with some nice certs: CCNA/NP, Sec+, Net+, AWS, etc.... I'm actually in MS, just south of Memphis. I have my Associates in Networking and it's a transfer eligible degree that merges with the program you're in at USM so I'm currently deciding between WGU and USM. How are you liking the program there?
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    all i search for is computer networking jobs on indeed and there are 500 different names for the job title.

Which is why you shouldn't get caught up in job titles. The same title can mean completely different things at different companies. Look for positions that the job duties are what you want to do.
  • Options
    beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Guessing your following the administration track not the developer track. Most likely your going to start out on a support desk and work your way into a junior network or administrator role.