Options

Career Recovery?

Phileeeeeeep651Phileeeeeeep651 Member Posts: 179 ■■■□□□□□□□
Anyone have any advice on how to essentially revive my career?

Long story short, July 2017 I walked away from a pretty good networking gig because of a case of the burnouts. No job lined up, no real plan in place, just needed to get away from it all and clear my head. About a month in I had what I’m now referring to as a career crisis and decided that I was going to become a software engineer. I decided to go all in on that idea and attended a coding boot camp, learning JavaScript web development, and realized after I graduated that the grass wasn’t as green as I thought it was on the software side of the fence.

Something was just missing but don’t get me wrong I enjoyed every second of it. I made some great connections along the way and gained a bunch of skills and knowledge that I hope to be able to integrate into my career going forward.

I guess I’m just wondering if anyone else has walked away from IT for a bit and has any advice on navigating the journey back? I have an idea of where I'd like to get to, Security, but I feel like I’m in this weird spot of either having a black hole on my resume from last year till now or being seen as someone who has no idea what they’re doing, lol. Any advice is appreciated!
Working on: CCNP Switch

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Well, it sounds like you're going for the 3rd career shift in a year, so I'd say you want to really decide what you want to do, and why. I'd look at each past job, and future decisions and think about them. You left a good networking job because of burnout, was it just that workplace? Do you not like networking? You went to a code camp but didn't do coding either, no jobs? Got a job and hated it? If the answer to both of those questions is that you just didn't like doing it, then you probably won't like security either.