Options

EPIC FAIL Cissp

TitchbachTitchbach Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Background is 15 years IT, 10 in Infosec. Sooooooo, I failed and really thought I prepared well.

I used:
CBK Study Guide
Sybex 7th edition
ISC2 app tests
CBT Nuggets

I was thought I was preparing really well, I was reading content and knew it. There were areas I was struggling on, for example domain 8 but felt ok about the exam. I studied for 6 weeks, however I knew my study plan was rubbish as I was coming home from work late, and not doing any, but this is no excuse.

I was really nervous day of test, I am lucky test centre is 10 miles away.

Anyway take the test and I knew I had failed as I was reading questions and not understanding what the question was. Timing wasn’t an issue for me, but when I went passed question 100 I knew I had failed. I was stopped before 150.

I am disappointed in myself, not the exam as I felt I should have known what is being asked.

I have bought 8th edition sybex and will give it another go. I want this cert so so bad.

Any tips of how much study you should do a night / weekend?

So never give up, it’s a b**ch but we will all get there.

Comments

• Options
    gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You should absolutely invest in question banks like Transcender or cccure. Although they suck they at least give you some degree and feel about the level of your preparedness. Sybex book should have their own question bank as well. You are looking to get 80%+ on previously unknown tough questions, this historically shows good chances to pass going to an actual exam.
  • Options
    nb1nb1 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I failed the first time as well, just focus on what you didn't do well on and you'll be fine. I just made a point to read each question that seemed off twice. I think that helped me a ton.
  • Options
    roxerroxer Member Posts: 130 ■■■□□□□□□□