Options

Do you have to be good with Powershell and CMD CLI to pass MCSA exams

Wolverine2349Wolverine2349 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
If you know how to do everything with GUI are you good, or do you need to know powershell cmdlets good?

ANd if you need to know powershell good, do you just need o know cmdlets and what each one does to accomplish something, you don't have to know writing scrips or actually writing code do you?

I am not that good with powershell yet, but I can definitely learn commands. Now scripting or programming on the other hand I am horrible and would never be good at. I am good at the infrastructure side.

Comments

• Options
    backtrackerbacktracker Member Posts: 91 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You need to know both, but PowerShell for sure.
    MSM-ISS (Information System Security)-'07 Colorado Tech.
    MCSE | MCSA X3 | Security + | Network +
  • Options
    srocky26srocky26 Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
    You're expected to know PowerShell. You'll need to know what commands to use for certain tasks and some of the properties. You may even need to know the order to run PowerShell commands in order to setup some role or feature.
  • Options
    malachi1612malachi1612 Member Posts: 430 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Only the basics and know what the commands do. They don't expect you to be a PowerShell master.

I'm rubbish at PowerShell but I got through enough exams ok.
    Certifications:
    MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure, MCSA: Windows Server 2016, ITIL Foundation, MCSA: Windows 10, MCP, Azure Fundamentals, Security+.

• Options
    poolmanjimpoolmanjim Member Posts: 285 ■■■□□□□□□□