Options

Patten University - and how it compares against others (in my opinion).

revelatedrevelated Member Posts: 19 ■■■□□□□□□□
For the record, I am a former WGU student that dropped the program. It got me a lot of tech certs and transfer credits, and a student loan bill. That's all I can really say about that. It wasn't a good experience overall - it was to start, but not later.

In 2015 I decided to switch schools and try to transfer credits. I tried UMUC (University of Maryland University College), CSU Global Campus, Florida Tech Online, and Penn State World Campus.

UMUC had a horrible enrollment experience - delays in processing transcript, issues with the transcript from WGU where class outcomes were misrepresented (calling classes "transfer" when I actually took and passed them, for example), and of course they used PeopleSoft which is an unintuitive online web experience.

CSU Global uses PayPal for credit card processing. PayPal doesn't take cards without a PayPal account, which I don't and won't ever again have due to them blocking accounts for arbitrary reasons. CSU waived the fee and negated the need to provide a card, but then they do a credit check (?) and require docs for certain things. Problem: Stafford loans under the rules are not credit based, they're needs based, and them running credit is improper (I worked in the industry). PLUS loans are credit based, but I didn't want or need PLUS loans. So I withdrew the app.

Florida Tech Online has a very archaic enrollment. You can't do hardly anything online, you have to email answers to questions, then do a call, then do more emailing...just didn't work for me.