Options

Network Engineer at a Gold Partner???

pujan96pujan96 Member Posts: 121 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All,

Was wondering if anyone could share what its like working as a network engineer at a Gold partner?

Once I have my CCIE (long way away but the goal is there), I was hoping to get in at a gold partner here in the UK, could anyone share there experiences? Obviously I understand it will be different dependent on the company however I want to know what makes it different compared to other financial/public sector environments working as a network engineer.

Also what are the benefits? lol

Thanks
:)
[X] CCNA R&S

[X] CCNP Route 300-101
[  ] CCNP Switch 300-115
[  ] CCNP T-Shoot 300-135

[  ]  NPDESI 300-550

[  ] CCIE R&S Written
[  ] CCIE R&S LAB

Comments

• Options
    ccie14023ccie14023 Member Posts: 183
    Yes, very dependent on the company. I was a network engineer at a Gold partner in the US for 2 years. I did both pre- and post-sales roles. The good news is, if you have your CCIE, you can often be treated quite well at a partner, because they need CCIEs. They also paid for my second CCIE which was nice since I paid for my first myself.

In a post-sales role, you'll be doing deployments. The partner will sell some equipment and attach a Statement of Work (SoW) which spells out the cost to install it. Then you go on site and do the installation. Depending on the partner, you could be doing pre-staging work and then the gear gets shipped out or staging it on site. You could even be doing physical rack and stack. Pros: A lot of hands-on work; great experience; interesting exposure to a variety of customers. Cons: Often long hours on site; maintenance windows at weird times; a lot of travel.