Options

4th try and passed new CISSP CAT exam!

agreenwoodagreenwood Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
LOOOONG time lurker here. try 2 years lurker. icon_wink.gif I wanted to share my experience with everyone and offer my insights into this beast of an exam. I also wanted to thank everyone here for their invaluable feedback regarding best ways to prepare for this exam. you don't know how much you've helped prepare me for today.

I have been in IT for 10 years. started out as a network admin, moved up into an IT director role, and then into my current role as senior information security analyst. the only cert I had up to this point was the CCNA security and an expired CCNA. For starters, yes, I failed this exam 3 times before passing. first time I got a 637. second time a 692, and third time 696. the 696 was painful. I was discouraged for a few weeks after that fail. this was the original 250 question, 6 hour grind.

Here's where I went wrong. I studied max, 2-3 weeks each time. I simply did not commit the time necessary to learn concepts and really digest everything properly. I was always the type of test taker who who wait until day before and study or weekend before when in college. this approach did not work favorably in to my approach to tackling the CISSP.

first time using only SYBEX, that's it. 2nd and third time was SYBEX with Kelly Handerhahn's videos and taking only the end of chapter quiz's in SYBEX. again, SYBEX was my only resource.

the 4th time around was quite different. I started studying SYBEX 7th edition again, read it twice, did several of the included exams, and then BAM! CAT exam was introduced. I freaked out a bit but figured hey maybe CAT would be easier (spoiler alert: it wasn't). shortly after CAT was put into motion, they updated the content to include IoT, ABAC, audit doc stuff like SSAE16 / SOC1/SOC2/SOC3, and coding security (XSS, XSRF, SQLi, etc). So I had to buy the SYBEX 8th edition. It's amazing btw.