Options

How to ask my boss for a pay raise

bjpeterbjpeter Member Posts: 198 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have been working for my company here in Hawaii for more than two years already, and I love my job. My boss gives me praises for my hard and excellent work, and I like my co-workers.

The problem is that I am making $60K as a mid-level software developer, which is considered "minimum wage" here in Hawaii (and below the average salary for software developers on the U.S. Mainland with the same number of years of experience as me, which is 5 years). I was supposed to have a performance review in December, but I think my boss forgot, so I have not had any performance reviews since I started working for my company.

Ever since I have been working for my company, I have earned 8 certifications (including CSSLP and CASP), and I would like to ask for a pay raise, say, $25K more. How do I approach my boss about it? Have you had any experience asking for a raise after achieving a certification and also for excellent performance. I would like to hear your thoughts and/or suggestions. Thanks!
2021 Goals (2): SSCP, eCPPT
Achieved (27): Certified Associate in Python Programming, Microsoft Certified: Azure Fundamentals, PenTest+, Project+, CySA+, Flutter Certified Application Developer, OCP Java EE 7 Application Developer, CCSP, OCP Java SE 11 Developer, CISSP, Linux+/LPIC-1, CCSKv4, OCE Java EE 6 JPA Developer, CSSLP, Server+, Cloud+, Arcitura Certified Cloud Professional, CASP+, Mobility+, Storage+, Android Certified Application Developer, OCP Java SE 8 Programmer, Security+, OCM Java SE 6 Developer, B.S. and M.S. in Computer Science

Comments

• Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You have five years of experience but only two with your current employer. How does your current salary compare to your previous job?
  • Options
    shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□