Options

Remote workers and home offices - What is your setup?

MooseboostMooseboost Member Posts: 778 ■■■■□□□□□□
I have never worked fully remote before, but my new position will be 100% remote. I built my home office to be ideal (I think) for the kind of work I will be doing. Setting the room up was not as easy as I was expecting and I found out that a lot of little things were needed like blackout curtains and a window AC unit. I thought building the office would be pure tech but a lot of other small tasks needed to come together. Worrying about power outlet locations and other things. I've never had a "gaming" room, so to some the concept having to worry about these things isn't new. I've always just had a PC on a desk and that is it.

So what kind of setup do you guys have? When you built your office, what challenges did you come across?

Comments

• Options
    wd40wd40 Member Posts: 1,017 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I don't work from home but I have a similar similar setup :), 3 x 27" DELL P2714H (I bought the sound bar that attaches to the bottom of the screen for the middle one).

I think you need to invest in a good chair if you don't have one.
  • Options
    SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I am not 100% remote, but I did have a period where I was at lot at home. Your screen setup is good, but it is a matter of personal preference. There is few thing important to consider. A good chair, nice lighting for work, nice phone with wireless headset, good cell phone reception, a good webcam and mic for online meeting. Do a few test with family member for your webcam, you want to look professional, not as the geek working from his basement, so make sure that your background is appropriate. The acoustic of the room can be considered too, you dont want to sound "echo".