Options

PLEASE HELP... job questions

mkjoungmkjoung Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello - I'm not sure what the right decision is so please help!

I graduated from a 4 year school in 2016 with an IT degree and have about 2 years~ of helpdesk experience. After working as helpdesk, I thought I could take on jr sysadmin roles so I studied and got a cert (security+) and started job searching. After 2 months of searching, I was able to land a job at a hedgefund in NYC as a "system engineer". I put quotes because the role itself is half helpdesk and half system work. I like the role and the company, in a way, but my team is the problem. There are about 5 other guys who are dull and a**hole kinda guys. Very short with their words and really do not like to help or answer questions. They all graduated from elite schools so definitely high level of confidence and intelligence and knowledge within the field. Me, having such little experience and not much knowledge, always have questions - especially when working on system related projects. And when I started looking for a new role, I wanted to go to a place where I can have a mentor who is a sysadmin who can help me not only with my tasks but also guide me in the right direction in my career. With that, I have really been stressing out and been depressed and anxious going into work everyday. So I would really like to quit. So with this, my questions are..

1. Salary with this role is 80k.. with 2 years of experience I am expecting to find a job around 65k if I did quit and looked for a new job. Is that worth to give up?
2. How bad is it to leave a 4 month experience on resume? I feel like I can explain pretty well that it wasn't the right fit for me.
3. If I did quit, I am expecting myself to be unemployed for about 3 months (estimating) - so I am planning on applying and studying for a new cert (maybe ccna or msca) within this time. Is this not a good idea to quit a job and study for a cert?