Options

On the fence between two jobs....

Daneil3144Daneil3144 Member Posts: 152 ■■■□□□□□□□
In the middle of my two week notice leaving my first IT Job, to move on. I received an interview for another potential job and received an offer before the week was over. Now I’m on the fence, looking for all input, keep in mind, still looking for experience, and only have a Comptia A+. I have a four year degree, but it is in Criminal Justice ….career change.

Job 1 Pros: (Private Medical Company)
Negotiated Higher Hourly Rate at $21
Company Match 3% - 401K
Stated they will reimburse for certifications
One day a week can work from home
The experience will open the doors to other avenues, as I will be doing things I’ve never done, and the manager is the building the IT department from the ground up. He’s been there for two years and is making progress.

Cons:
1 Hour and 10 Minute Drive One Way
Service Desk Calls for the Clinics across the region – on the phone all day
Feel bad having them already pay for background and drug screen

Job 2: (Government County Job)

Pro:
Cheaper and Better Insurance
Closer to Home – 10 minutes down the road
May also open doors as I talking to staff and they had to deal with out of country attacks being a government entity.

Cons:
Really won’t learn anything new, as it mostly deployments and break/fix
Salary at $41K
Have to talk to current job to letting me stay an extra week due to orientation not until the 23rd…

Comments

• Options
    LordQarlynLordQarlyn Member Posts: 693 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Aside from the 1 hour and 10 minute commute, Job 1 would have been my dream job when I was first trying to break in IT. The paying for certs is icing on the cake. For me the biggest difference is with Job 2 you'd update your resume with the roles and responsibilities, with Job 1, you would update with bullet points. I'm kind of surprised even a county job doesn't offer a nominal cert reimbursement though, but maybe they just don't have the budget.