Options

Please help!

newtoIT3919newtoIT3919 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello

I graduated in 2016 with a BA in IT and worked at a medium sized company as a desktop support for 2 years. Recently, I got a job as a systems engineer and have been working for a couple of months. But I really do not like the job and have been having anxiety issues. Long story short I would really like to quit. My plan is to quit and just start studying for certs (CCNA or MSCA) while applying - expecting a couple of months of unemployment. What would be the reaction of hiring managers if I can explain to them why I had to leave the job and that I used the time to study for certs for self-improvement?

Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I think the first couple months at any job can be stressful... Everything is new and can be stressful trying learn everything while being the new person.

Unless the job is effecting your health due long hours or its a very toxic environment, I think quitting is the wrong answer and would say to suck it up and give it more time. Or at least talk to your manager or someone else there first before quitting. If they hired you they probably would want you to stick around and would probably want to know what is wrong before you just walked out.

If you were to quit, you better have a very good reason (besides anxiety) or I would leave this 2 month job off your resume. Looks horrible to leave a job only after 2 months imo.
  • Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    STAY where you for at least a year. Employers will not look kindly that you just quit just to study for certs since many people study for certs while working.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■