Experience IT professional breaking into Cloud Security job market. Advise needed

rs23rs23 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

I started my career in a NOC/SOC environment where i got my CCNA 10 years ago. For the past 8 years i have been working for a couple of big consulting firms specializing in federal consulting and my role has kinda transitioned into a Office 365 architect/Product manager with a specialty in MS Teams, SharePoint online and One Drive (Architecture, Admin and security). I have a Masters in Cyber security from 2008 but things have evolved and changed dramatically since then. I am looking to move more into a Cloud Security architect role for career progression and looking for some guidance on the following

1) What certifications should i focus on first to catch up on the latest and greatest. I was thinking about Comptia Security+ and Cloud+. If there are others please feel free to add

2) I have been looking at AWS and Azure certifications and a bit lost where to start. I have been in a Microsoft shop for over 5 years now

3) With 3 young kids my preference is not to work in a SOC in a night shift ( I did it for 4 years and hated it every moment) What kinda roles i should target?

I am happy to provide more details if needed.

J

Comments

• yourtechcareeryourtechcareer Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi. I'd recommend networking through your local Cloud Security Alliance chapter. Their site has a list of certifications that might help you transition into cloud security. https://cloudsecurityalliance.org/
  • mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□
    MCSE: Cloud Platform and infrastructure? Sure, you can knock out Sec+ and Cloud+ quick... but how much will that actually benefit you giving your decade in IT.
    Certs: CISSP, CySA+, Security+, Network+ and others | 2019 Goals: Cloud Sec/Scripting/Linux

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□