Creating a statement of work and have a question for you

JasionoJasiono Member Posts: 896 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey everyone

I'm in the process of creating a SOW for a pen test I'll be performing. I'm pretty new to this and have the terminology down with the exception of one thing.

What does it mean to consume data? Non-destructive tests where data will not be consumed? I googled it and couldn't find it but my manager mentioned it, and I didn't want to ask him right off the bat.

I'm assuming resources? Perhaps data not being deleted in a database perhaps?

Comments

• paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    That's not a legal "term of art" that I've ever come across. Unless it's defined, I personally wouldn't use it in a SOW or Agreement. If I was to guess, I would presume that it is related to exfiltrating data for further lateral movement during the pen test.
  • JasionoJasiono Member Posts: 896 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Ah ok. I will specify it as such and see what he says. I will also state that no data will be deleted in any associated databases as well. It's all internal application testing, but I want to be as specific as possible with my language because someone non-technical will be reading it (non-technical in information security that is)
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Just my 2 cents, but I would never say that something wouldn't be deleted from a database. You may not knowingly or intentionally be deleting something but you can't generally know if some action may cause a removal of data.

Usually, I stick to legal terms around liability and negligence. I.e. "we will take reasonable precautions to reduce the likelihood of negative impact to ... blah blah blah. We will not be responsible blah blah blah except to the extent that such negative impact are due to gross negligence or willful misconduct."

Usually if a lawyer is paying attention, we then have an argument about the use of "gross negligence" which I will usually acquiesce.