Options

Newbie question270718

WillisyWillisy Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I am a newbie just as the subject said. I am an experienced IT professional. I have done almost everything on IT, from Networking to Cloud, to security. At this point in time, I am at a crossroad of my career. My problem now is, I have some money to embark on some certification but, I am confused which way to go about it. I am looking for some reasonable suggestion and that is why I am here. I am in UK and the UK IT market is buoyant at the moment.

I have two options to go to:

option 1 go for CISSP training and certification.

option 2 go for SANS, the GCIH, or the GCIA.

I am in two minds which of the two to go.

please advice.

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Depending on what you want to do with your career they are pretty different paths. Option one can be done with a book and some free videos for under 1,000, option 2 is pushing 15K. One is more wide and less focused, but more recognized, option too goes much deeper on fewer topics.
  • Options
    DonklanderDonklander Member Posts: 47 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Exactly what the person above me said.

You're getting far more value with option 2, considering it's a lot harder to just study for those (though possible).

Option 1 is something that doesn't really require more than a book or 2, videos, and a practice test engine.
  • Options
    LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□
    There isn't an exact answer as it can vary from the situation you are in and the path you are considering to take, but a few factors that you may want to consider are ROI, life commitment and career progression. Let me break it down in more details so that you can consider better.

1) Return on Investment