Options

Provisionally passed the CISSP exam - 5th Attempt

InfoAssureInfoAssure Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've followed this forum to get various study advice from its members over the years. I appreciate some of the feedback I've gotten which I believe has helped me succeed. Today, after a long journey of attempting CISSP exams, I've finally managed to pass this grueling test. I originally took the CISSP back in January of 2015 after attending a bootcamp. My experience level at that time was a Cybersecurity analyst for the Department of Navy. I analyzed vulnerability scans and STIGS across systems and created Certification and Accreditation documentation. I've previously ran vulnerability scans, hardened systems, implemented firewalls, encryption, etc. I have my Security+ and a Bachelor's Degree in IT Management and have had various roles in information security. In the past year, I've become an ISSO and have gotten a taste of managing accreditation boundaries . I wanted to pursue the CISSP because I felt it was the next natural progression in my career path. I failed the exam many times due to various factors, but I feel what really held me back was not being able to think like a manager. I kept trying to fix the problem as a technical analyst which was where a lot of my experience was at the time. My previous attempts were fairly close which is why I kept pursuing this exam. That and I just wanted to be able to obtain this certification. If my scores were not even close to the mark, I probably would have gave up on this a long time ago. I'm glad I didn't.