MCSE or Server 2012 with upgrade to 2016?

SorceriousSorcerious Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone!

I'm a 29 year old Belgian Support Engineer with mainly experience in Helpdesk (1st/2nd line) and am now in a Desktop Support role. I have about 5 years experience in Support and I'm looking to get into System Administration.

I'm currently working for a consultancy firm, current project is Deskside Support.

Today, I have completed the MCSA Office 365 (yay!) as my employer asked me to so I could move into doing migrations/implementations. That brings my total IT certs to 3 (MCSA Windows 10, MCSA Office 365 & ITIL Foundation).

Setting up labs for both exams naturally brought an interest in Windows Server, especially as I'm looking to move into the field (which is basically a different beast than Support). After speaking with a colleague who has extensive experience administering MS Exchange, which I've gotten interested in because of the Office 365 cert, he advised me to immediately start moving towards the MCSE, by completing the Exchange 2016 exam.

Problem is, even though it greatly interests me, I'm not sure if this would be the right move as I do not see a bright future for onprem Exchange. I know MS has announced the Exchange 2019 package, but I have a feeling this may be the last onprem product they release.

Moreover, Server 2012 would give me a great foundation towards my short term goal, but it would be another MCSA, by many seen as the cert for entry level roles.

I know experience > certificates, but it seems employers want to see the cert before letting you touch the stuff.

What would your advice be? Get the MCSE without any experience, or go straight for the 3d MCSA?

Thanks a lot for your feedback :).

Comments

• MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□