How I passed CISSP in 7.5 weeks

Abhinav ViswambharanAbhinav Viswambharan Registered Users Posts: 2 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I would like to start by thanking all those who have posted about their experiences in this forum. It has been of great help for people like me who have been reading them passively, to get as close as possible to the realities of CISSP certification exam.

Having provisionally passed my CISSP exam couple of days ago, I feel obligated to give back to this community by sharing my own experience preparing for it.

Though I have been working in the IT industry for over 12 years now, it was only about 3 months ago that I seriously started thinking about the CISSP certification. The trigger was an internal organizational change that I wanted to suited up for. In my current role I lead a team of security and network engineers at work, working on specific missions around securing information systems within our organization.

I did spend some time contemplating whether to go for CISSP or CISM, and after doing some research it was a no brainer - CISSP!

Following is a quick summary of key aspects of my preparation:
  • Personal Situation: Working full time for 5days/week & 2.5years old daughter keep things busy at home.
  • Total Duration: 51 days
  • Time spent per week: 20 hours (2hrs/day on weekdays and 5hrs/day on weekends)
  • Mode of Learning: Selfstudy using online ISC2 study materials
  • Study materials:
    • Official ISC2 CISSP Study Guide 8th edition - I spent 70% of overall time on this 1000 pages long book and practised associated 1320 sample questions via online Sybex Wiley Test Bank.
    • Official ISC2 CISSP Practice Tests 2nd edition - I spent 25% of overall time on this practicing 1344 sample questions via online Subex Wiley Test Bank.
    • Eleventh Hour CISSP Study Guide 3rd edition - I spent 5% of overall time on this 220 pages long book for a final revision of some of the CBK domains.