Options

Embarking on my CCNA journey...

lazsterrlazsterr Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good morning all,

Similar to what Spiegel did, I wanted to make a thread regarding my work towards my CCNA. Looking through the net at various CCENT/CCNA sites, I came across this forum, where I found some pretty sweet tips and advice on the cert.

I made the bad mistake of not using the few weeks after I graduated college (with an Associates in NETWORKING...) to brush up on what I didn't know and just take the CCNA, because...hell, I got a 78% on that practice exam that Cisco lets you take, so I'm sure I was REALLY close. I already had a job lined up and had some other stuff in the mix, but looking back on it I had more than enough time to study up.

BUT THAT'S THE PAST, LET'S LOOK AT NOW.

I've got a decent job in IT, and have finally put my foot down and said 'okay, it's about time I get this cert'. I've decided to take the two-part path, as it'd be a bit cheaper if I were to pass Part I on my first try (I'm hoping.) and then saving half the price if I fail Part II. On top of that, I'll still have the CCENT under my belt until I pass. I'm aiming for the CCENT before the end of the year, and the CCNA in the first quarter, give or take a few. I'm a meh-tier studier.

I've got a few things that I'm planning to utilize to get the CCENT, and eventually the CCNA.

1) Bryant's UDemy course - I suck when it comes to flat-out reading. My mind wanders, I skip paragraphs, I get bored. Being able to listen is definitely a plus for me.
2) Cisco's free ICND1 course I somehow found. Because you can't go wrong with another video resource.
3) The Odom Cert Guide book. Yes, I said I hated reading, but...I gotta do it. My coworker so graciously gave me his ICND1 book to look through.
4) NetAcad. Already took the four-part CCNA course, so I have that available to me as well.