Options

Getting into IT field

jnyuntjnyunt Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,
I read afew posts here, and some of them really interest me. I just really graduated from Uni with electrical engineering. Well, like some people, I have more interest in IT field then engineering. So i did lots of IT electives through out uni, such as network security, network communication,ebusiness and programming. But when i looked for IT jobs , most , well i mean all of them i found, asking for some IT certifications. Then , i stopped looking for jobs and started studying. I started with A+, then NET+(havent done exam yet). then after NET+, I am not sure where to go, CCNA or microsoft certification. I have more than 5 years experience in home base networking and technical support from local computer shop and private computer repair business.
So which way should i go? both or little bit of both or just one?
James

Comments

• Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    What interests you more, LAN/WAN networking or System Administration? If you want to work with computers/servers go for the MS. If you like command line, network backbones, and communications go for Cisco. Obviously both come in handy and cross job paths. As a LAN admin I generally spend my time on the 25 or so servers I administer, but I also have to configure and trouble shoot the occasional router and several dozen switches on our network.
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • Options
    holysheetmanholysheetman Member Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□