Options

Passed GREM!

Itgc02Itgc02 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Passed GREM today! Wanted to share my experience and tips for those that may be interested in the exam in the future since I use this site pretty often to aid in my studies for various certs.

For starters this exam is definitely tough, but the reward for passing is greater than the pain you endure studying. I did not have much of any RE experience before this course, just some self taught behavioral analysis techniques I've picked up along the years. Definitely no assembly experience. I did purchase the practical malware book prior to my course, but only got through maybe a few chapters and didn't use at all during my exam.

What I took with me to the exam:

- Books 1-5
- Made reference sheets for myself on common api calls for certain techniques, volatility and various tools. ( didn't use these much, but they helped me study- so not a complete waste of time)
- Index

Tips/What worked for me:

1 Read Material - probably can't stress this one enough. I read the books 3-4 times depending on how well I grasped the material.
- My first read through I attempted to index as I read..... didn't work for me so I decided to just read and take notes of important things instead.

- Read through 2-4 I created and subsequently added to my index. My final index was maybe 1,200 lines which was definitely overkill but helped me study.

2 Do the labs - I did the labs as I read the first couple of times, while it took me longer to get through the material it really did help with understanding the labs.

3 Listen to lectures - if you're like me, sometimes you can read something 2x and still have trouble grasping the material for some odd reason. I listened to the lectures one time from beginning to end, then listened to modules I struggled with more then once if needed. I was onDemand for this course, and listing to the lectures while doing some of the labs really helped!