Options

How do you stay motivated?

SurferdudeHBSurferdudeHB Member Posts: 199 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for the SIP school cert and I'm having a lot of difficulties staying consistent with my studies. I'm already 10 years into my voice engineer career and I guess not that excited to study anymore.

I took me over 3 years to get my CCNA and not sure how I can keep myself motivated to pass this SIP school cert.

Comments

• Options
    Phileeeeeeep651Phileeeeeeep651 Member Posts: 179 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Honest question, do you really want to get the cert?

A year ago I got pretty burnt out from the Cert/Study grind. I was working on my CCNP, at a job that didn't have much upward mobility, and the other networking gigs in my area were somewhat nonexistent. I decided to just take a break from it all. I explored a different career field (software dev) and while I don't really recommend this, it really helped me focus on what it was that I wanted. Now I'm back in the networking field, back to CCNP, and hungry for more.

Moral of the story is, I think it's okay to take a break every once in a while and refocus.
    Working on: CCNP Switch
  • Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You definitely need breaks but it also helps to have a goal or timeline.

If you say you are going to get your CCNP the best thing to do is book one of the test. If there is no date there is no urgency. If these are personal goals I suggest you take a realistic look at how much time you want to commit. Planning two hours a day for something you don't want is going to be impossible. Planning 30 minutes might work just fine.

The best shot at staying motivated is picking things you actually want. That will get you started. Every once in a while you will have to suck it up and grind out some hard work even if your not motivated. Then you need to research methods for staying focus.

Not motivated - won't read
    Not focused - won't remember
  • Options