Options

Should I get a degree?

AshenweltAshenwelt Member Posts: 266 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey all, weird question.  So many years ago I worked in IT (then called MIS) as I went towards a history degree to become a teacher.  Well, that never finished.  So now over 20 years later, ok nearly 30 years... I am now a director at a consulting services.  I have a crap ton of certs (CISM, CIPT, PSM, MOF, MCSEx3, MCITPx4,MCTSx16... and so on).  Now I am wondering is my lack of a degree actually hurting me today.  I know it wouldn't if I was hiring.  But... with no financial incentive... is it worth it to get a degree in your opinion today?  

Thanks for your thoughts.
Ashenwelt
-Always working on something...
-The RepAdmin Active Directory Blog

Comments

• Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It's worth looking into. I'm a fan of advanced-planning so planning for future advancement as well as planning for job termination. In both cases, you would benefit from having a degree. Online doesn't have the stigma it used to and there are even a number of schools that are moving forward with some degree of competency-based education. This has been out there a while but it was in the form of "testing out of" a course. Now, these programs support it on more than a course by course basis and some have entire programs where you can move as fast as you want or as slow as you need (within reason).

Is it worth it? I think so and went back and finished my bachelors a few years ago despite there not being a specific reason to do so other than future planning.
  • Options
    PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Honestly, I would look at the types of jobs that either you would look at having in the future as far as upward mobility, or as an emergency if you suddenly lost the job you have.  Would I get a degree just to get one?  Probably not.  Would I get a degree to further my knowledge if money wasn't a big issue?  Absolutely.