Newbie / Advise

JB_15JB_15 Member Posts: 11 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I am a newbie in this community. I love technology and have recently got my MCSE in Productivity. 

I now need advice on the Cloud vendor to focus on as I would like to learn and work wit cloud technology. I have never worked on either Azure or AWS, so I am a total newbie. 

I would like advice on which one to start on, to get solid foundation on cloud computing.

Thanks in advance.

Regards

Comments

• MontagueVandervortMontagueVandervort Member Posts: 399 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your newly acquired certification.

Great going there!

As for which Cloud vendor to focus on, that all seems to be a matter of personal opinion/taste.

I will share with you what *I* plan to do and perhaps that will help you somehow or at least give you a hint of the direction you would like to go.

My personal plans concerning all of this are as follows:

1. Study Cloud+ to better understand the usage of cloud and its fundamentals. I do not currently plan to take the certification, just study the material for knowledge and see if this is something that is as interesting as it seems to be. I chose Cloud+ because it's vendor-neutral.
    2. If I like Cloud after studying it more carefully then I'll go in for Google's Associate Cloud Engineer Certification.
    3. If I really like that material then I will proceed with one or more of their Professional Level Certifications.
    4. If I didn't care for it then I will move to AWS.
    5. I will do AWS either way, either upon completion of Google certs or in replacement of.

Why did I pick Google? I didn't, necessarily. I picked both Google and AWS. In the end, I'm approximating that AWS will dominate. I don't see Azure in the game at all for the longterm. I could be wrong about that, but that's just my gut-feeling.