Options

Masters in Computer Science @ DSU

2»

Comments

• Options
    JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod

In my case I want to get into exploitation and knowing Computer Science is basically required.  
    So I used to think the same thing. I've always wanted to get into reverse engineering, malware research, and exploit development, and for the longest time I had made plans to go back and get either a BSCS or MSCS (GA Tech). However the more people I've followed that perform that, the more I found that they do not have CS backgrounds or degrees. Many are self taught as well. I'm sure having a CS background will only help, but some of the best out there, including ones putting out their own training, don't seem to have a CS degree or background. So I now figure that I will instead just focus my time on the courses and self learning out there for x86/x64 Assembly, C/C++, and the various reversing tools. I'll instead spend the time and money on Pentester Academy, OSCE/OSEE and the other courses out there. I still want to pursue CS but it's more because I find it fascinating, not as a pre-requisite for pursuing those types of jobs.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    JoJoCal19 said:

In my case I want to get into exploitation and knowing Computer Science is basically required.