Would I be lying to say my helpdesk experience is security experience? (need advice)

PseudonymousPseudonymous Member Posts: 78 ■■■□□□□□□□

I’ll try not to make this into a huge post, but basically in my eyes I kind of looked at my experience being 1 ½ years of IT Security Experience and 4 years of Helpdesk experience… but when I really look at it I think that's wrong so I need your advice. I lost my job a few weeks ago due to a company merger so I’m really trying to make my resume stand out as much as possible being a security focused resume.

The more I think about it, the more I feel I should be able to say I have 5 years of security experience based on those 2 positions alone. My original thoughts were that I couldn’t say I had 5 years of security experience because that helpdesk position wasn’t a dedicated security position… but does that really matter? That must account for something right? There was a lot of security that I did while in that position.

Examples:

·         Managed 2FA through RSA. Creating, revoking, and resetting tokens.

·         Active Directory – We created accounts. Also unlocked, reset, and disabled them.

·         We controlled delegate access to documents and Outlook

·         If people had a virus on their computers, we were the first to respond in many cases. Could be a virus… could be a suspicious email or file.