Howdy!

JackphomJackphom Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

Just discovered this amazing forum after searching high and low for something a bit better than the Reddit CCNA. I'm a Insurance Broker and have been for a very long time, decided to recently take the A+ and completed that cert.

Was going to move on and take the CompTIA Network + but decided that this would be more useful. I come from a no tech background so it'll be all self study from here.

Does anyone have any experience using JUST GSN3 while watching CBT Nuggets for ICND1? I would love to have a homelab but don't have the funds for that right now.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Infosec_SamInfosec_Sam Admin Posts: 527 Admin
    Hi @Jackphom, and welcome to the community! Congrats on the A+, by the way! Just because it's an entry-level cert doesn't mean it's going to be easy, so there's definitely something to be said about that already. To answer your question about using GNS3/CBTNuggets to study for the ICND1 exam, you're going to run into a couple of issues. First, Cisco requires an active service contract in order to download their device OS images, so you'll have to find a different way to get your hands on an IOS image if you don't have an active contract. The second snag you might come across is that GNS3 only supports older versions of IOS, so you might run the risk of a new feature being on the exam that you were unable to study for. It's unlikely, but possible.