Options

Transition from Tech Support to Software Development

TR4V1STYTR4V1STY Member Posts: 62 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey TechExams,

I've been doing Tech Support for about 12 years. I started at Geek Squad, and now I work for my local county government IT department here in rural California. This is my 9th IT job. 

I graduated from WGU last year with my Bachelor's in Software Development. I went from having almost no programming experience to being just proficient. I obtained the OCA: Java SE8 certification during my studies. I also have the CompTia A+, N+, S+, and P+ certs.

I like where I'm at with my Tech Support job in the local government, but I'm starting to stagnate. I'm not really using my programming skills. The way I see it, I have a few paths forward:

1. Continue with my Tech Support job, hope that an 'Analyst' position opens up, nail the interview, and use my programming skills there. If I stay here 5 years I'll be 'vested' with a pension.

2. Find an entry level Software Developer job. I don't feel like a strong enough programmer to pass an interview at this point. I would have to really study and practice on LeetCode and HackerRank. 

3. Shift gears into studying DevOps, CyberSec, AWS/Azure, or something like that where I can use my programming skills without being a full-on Developer. 

What would y'all do in this situation? 

Comments

• Options
    itdeptitdept Registered Users Posts: 273 ■■■■■■□□□□
    If you are stagnating I would say get out. In saying that, 9 jobs in 12 years does seem a tad excessive.
    I currently do tech support and only see it as a dead end job of password resets, printer fixes and teaching people who get paid more than me how to do their jobs.
    Cloud is where it is at and "everyone" will need to hop on that wagon at some point.
    Maybe try and work on some open source projects to help learn / train. That will keep you sharp and add to the resume.
  • Options
    DFTK13DFTK13 Member Posts: 176 ■■■■□□□□□□