Options

How to become a database admin ?

UngadungaDiabloUngadungaDiablo Member Posts: 19 ■■■□□□□□□□
Just curious if im on the right track, im currently studying the 70-761 MSCA SQL server course through cbtnuggets.com . I have take an SQL course at my University, unfortunately the one SQL course is the only one they have to offer other wise i would have taken more. This is the last few weeks of the semester for me, my degree ill have in a BS in computer networking, but computer networking to me is very boring, not enjoyable at all. I figured i would still aim to obtain the new CCNA just as a back up in case i end up finding a job in the CCNA world despite my disliking for it, a jobs a job. I have never held an IT job, i have no real world experience, a concern i have of trying to see what could happen jumping into the SQL world is the additonal skills i see that go along with a job search for "sql"
for example.

Required Skills:

• VB.NET <------------------ I dont know VB.NET
  • Visual Basic 6 <------------------- I dont know visual basic
  • Strong SQL skills
  • .Net C# <-------------------- I have taken 2 semesters of C++, beneficial, but not a fan at all.
  • Deep WinForms knowledge <------------------ I dont know
  • Experience with basic Design Patterns
  • Strong Object-Oriented fundamentals and expertise
  • Ability to juggle multiple projects and course correct as business drivers change
  • Strong attention to detail

Comments

• Options
    yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Did a quick job search for "junior DBA." Of the eight listings, one wanted 8+ years DBA experience, one 5+years, one 3+ years, one 2-4 years. As for the others, I think the job poster probably forgot to write it in.