Options

Cloud sysadmin researching positions without on-call support (or minimal)

thekid007thekid007 Member Posts: 33 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all,

It's been some time since I've posted here - I tried searching the threads here but could not find much regarding the advice I am seeking. The past 5 or 6 years, I got more experience being a Sysadmin. 

I was a Linux/VMWare analyst for about 2 years, had a short stint with a company for ~6 months in Devops, then the past 3 years I've been doing Cloud support (AWS, a bit of Linux, Azure, Windows, some bash and powershell but not a whole lot). Unfortunately the current place only been able to put to use some devops tools recently.

Here's the deal, my real passion is music. I like IT but I consider more a skill to put food on the table. The previous few positions have had on-call rotations. It's not that bad (2 weeks every 4 weeks), but I know I am the kind of person I like having my evenings and weekends free.

I have considered developing into more senior linux/devops positions (I love linux), but I know that is going to come with more on-call duties. I hate on call, and my body doesn't handle it well.

I am wondering what kind of roles anyone may able to suggest regarding IT roles with minimal/less on call roles. Does that even exist in Ops? Should I try to go more into Dev? 

My current company is involved in the accounting industry, so I've considered something like being an IT auditor - but I'm wondering if anyone has first hand experience with it and whether there is a lot of on-call with it.

Appreciate any advice!

Comments

• Options
    scascscasc Member Posts: 462 ■■■■■■■□□□