Options

Thoughts on Help Desk jobs

jpeezy55jpeezy55 Member Posts: 255
I interviewed for a position at a Pharmaceutical company for a Help Desk position yesterday. It sounds interesting, but I am not sure I would want to sit at a desk for 8 hours a day and field phone calls...for those that have a job like this, is it rewarding? Is it as mundane as it seems to me? (I am not trying to put down the job in any way, I'm just having doubts about changing careers - I'm a PC Tech in a School District now - it would mean a small increase in pay, but over 70 minutes drive time each day to and from work compared to the 15 I have now).

They did not give me an exact number for salary, but when I told the interviewer what I was told by the gentleman I spoke to to set it up, all he did was say "I have to have a talk with Matt..." so, apparently it is not as much as I was led to believe... icon_cry.gif

Anyway, sorry to ramble on here, but I was just trying to get a grip on what can come out of a position like this? My goal is to be a Network Admin and I was told that being on Help Desk Support, you learn a little about everything imaginable and a lot about other parts which I guess could be good for later advancement. icon_confused.gif

Thanks for reading my babbling post and if you have any thoughts, I'd love to read them! :)
Tech Support: "Ok, so your monitor is not working, the screen is blank, and no matter what you do it stays blank? Do you see that button on the bottom right hand side just below the screen? Press it. . . . Great, talk to you next time!"

Comments

• Options
    int80hint80h Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    hands on support experience is better than over the phone support experience for obvious reasons.
  • Options
    keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    it sounds to me like you should keep looking.. unless it pays that " golden" number that you need but you'll trade it back in the time loss for travel and gas