Options

Certification Dilemma

arunm17arunm17 Member Posts: 29 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I am seeking for advice as i am in a dilemma. I have about 23 years of experience in IT industry. Currently i am a Project Manager / Product Manager - Consultant for Software Development in my organization. I am 42 married with kids.

I am considering whether to reinforce my PM skills or focus on a new field altogether. I have existing certification PMP & PRINCE2P. I pursued PMI-ACP, PMI-RMP & ASTQB-CTFL..failed miserably this year 2022. I am thinking whether i should continue to do this papers? I know these certifications add value to me in my current organization. However i lost the motivation to do it as i spent about 100 hours studying on each paper, i guess i have to change my study approach. in fact my boss told me, so what if you fail? you can always try again.

I am NOT being forced to take but it is my itchy hands to test myself again the industry standards & that is all.

This is my current dilemma!

However i am also leaning or like to Cybersecurity! I was looking to sit for ISACA-CRISC CGEIT, CISM & CISA for every quarter and complete these exams in 2023. That way i can leverage my membership fees and get a discount on the exam papers. But i am no closer to getting a role in my current organization. These all is just prop my CV and opportunities in my org if they come somehow.

I also lined up ISC-CCSP & ISC-CISSP for the following next year 2024. After this i am done with my certifications! then i will continue to work and retire when i am 60. Its about 18 years now to 60. This is my plan.

So what do you think i should do?

Option #1

Continue with PMI-ACP, PMI-RMP & ASTQB CTFL which is more aligned to my current job role. Complete these papers, take 1 quarter break and continue with rest of my target. I am going to subscribe to PMI-Membership and continue to leverage the discounted exams for ACP & RMP.

Option #2