Experienced Network operator with no CCNA needs a plan :)

tigerGTtigerGT Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I was wandering if i can get some direction as i think i need a plan and i do not have one. I have been working with Cisco Routers for over 2 years now. I am in service assurance meaning I deal with troubleshooting mainly. I mostly work on 7600 routers and 3550 hubs.
I have been lazy but I now want to go into turbo mode and do what I can to sit and pass this exam. I have the Richard Deal CCNA study guide for the 640-801 exam. I do not have any practice questions however nor do I have any sort of past exams or whatever it is that people use when cramming. I am currently just reading the book. I have the CCNA self study guie also by Odom ( two books). I have not looked at these books yet as they looked too thick and daunting.
I understand everything I read and have a good IT background but ever since I finished my degree I have been put off further study. I now need to get motivated to pass this CCNA. I really really want to but need a plan..
Should i buy some sort of past papers ? I dont know where to go for the simulator questions?

I am sorryfor the long post but would really appreciate your feedback.

I want to have my CCNA by the end of August. Is this unrealistic?

Thanks heaps
thanks
Georges

Comments

• flares2flares2 Member Posts: 79 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hey tiger,
    First of all as you can see, I don't have my CCNA yet so don't take my words for golden, I'm here more for encouragement.
    But I've seen posts like this in the past and the general consensus is that you have some experience, you have the resources (books and access to Cisco devices), now it's all you.
    Everyone here seems to have the same formula for success: Read your books from cover to cover, do a few practice exams, go through the labs over and over and over and be able to subnet like there's no tomorrow.