Options

Does working on POS systems really count as experience

avxavx Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
I just started a job this week working on POS systems,and it's not what I'm use to, so it takes sometime to figure out the problems that occur, But I hope I'm not wasting my time here, hopefully this is still looked at as IT experience.

Anyone else here worked on POS systems, and if so did it hinder you when it was time to move onto something better?

Comments

• Options
    Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    I've been working on POS systems for a few years. It's not really heavy IT, but it is experience for hands-on.....
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • Options
    spike_tomahawkspike_tomahawk Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Definitely good, I have done 1 day projects for a well know POS install / maintenance company, the machines are IBM, OS if I remember were XP or 2000, hooked into a LAN. Also bios upgrades, and memory upgrades.

Put that stuff on my current resume and blasted it to the usual places, got call from multiple companies, the one I chose talked about my working for company above.

So…… good? Yes all experience is good no matter how you look at it, and also how you relate that experience on your resume later
  • Options
    sylexsylex Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Done POS for three years. I do POS for restraunts and assuming you do to. On the surface it seems like a great job to get yelled at every day by owners of Bob's Country Bunker that don't understand that if you don't pay your bills you won't get service.

Will it hinder you in a finding a better job? No. As long as you put in the time.
    There are alot of instances that let you use all your basic computer skills.
    A customer has a hardware problem A+.
    A customer has a Windows problem MCDST ect.
    A customer has two computers that cannot talk to each other Net+, CCNA.
    A customer gets a letter from Visanet about their encription of their credit cards. CISP.