Options

For those who have passed

saddlebagssaddlebags Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Im studying for the Server+ now and a lot of it seems very in depth, so I was wondering if you need experience of Servers to pass this. Is there anyone who has passed it who has had no experience of servers?

Comments

• Options
    TheShadowTheShadow Member Posts: 1,057 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I believe that CompTIA says you should have 18 to 24 months working with servers. Yes some of it is in depth but then so is a server room. A large one can be a scary sight to some until you understand most of it is redundant. Severs just use more of everything and some parts not generally found in desktops anymore; SCSI, Tape, ECC memory, multiple NIC's, multiple CPU's etc.
    Who knows what evil lurks in the heart of technology?... The Shadow DO
  • Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    It has been close to 3 years since I passed Server+. I had little familiarity with server hardware at the time. It was a very difficult exam for me.

Server+ concentrates more on server hardware. As the TheShadow relates, servers are about more of everything. However, it's not the hardware that make a computer a server. It's the operating system that does that, but Server+ does concentrate on hardware, data storage and backup, and emergency preparedness and disaster recovery.

I don't believe there were any questions that were not some sort of small troubleshooting scenario.

So, you don't want to hurry this one. Use at least 2 sources to study from and, if possible, get some experience with some M$ trial version server OSs and maybe some Linux. Learn about securing that system too, as well as physical security of the hardware itself.