Options

two questions about switch

pengbinpengbin Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi, I am new to CCNA and have two questions about switch.

1. Read one CCNA book. It says "The main purpose of a switch is to make a LAN work better-to optimize its performance-provide more bandwidth for hte LAN's users." As I know, each port in the switch breaks up collision domains but can't break up broadcast domains. So it can reduce the collision in the LAN. But can't understand how it can provide more bandwidth? anybody explain?

2. Can switch be connected to directly to Bridge or hub?

Comments

• Options
    BubbaJBubbaJ Member Posts: 323
    1. You can run full duplex with a switch. A switch's backbone has a lot more bandwidth than any individual port. A switch can have an interface with more bandwidth to the rest of the network.

2. Yes. You will probably need a cross-over cable.
  • Options
    Danman32Danman32 Member Posts: 1,243
    1. Another reason a switch can increase throughput is because multiple frames that have uniqe source/desination macs from other frames can be forwarded at the same time. If a host on port A wants to send a frame to a host on port B, it can, even while a host on port C is sending a frame to port D.
    Also, if there is only a single host on a switch's ports, then collsions are elliminated, and the full bandwidth of the cable can be utilized.
    Otherwise, because of the nature of ethernet being CSCD, statistically as more hosts try to fully utilize the ethernet, the usefull bandwidth goes down as collisions rise. Statistically it can be shown that the full utilization in such a case is about 1/3 the cable capacity.