Options

CCNA Recertify

jjdurrantjjdurrant Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone - newbie here. My name is Justin and I am a current CCNA from the 640-607 days. :)

My CCNA expires in a couple of months. I have been studying the 640-801 for a few months now only to just realize that I could recertify with just the 640-811.. DOH!

I am trying to decide if I should just do the 801, or focus on the material that applies the the 811? I would assume the 811 is easier since the 801 covers the intro exam material as well.

Your thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
    how does recertification work?

do you get a new certificate? If not, maybe you should wait until yours expires, and then take 801 to get a new certificate, :)
    Jack of all trades, master of none
  • Options
    not sure.. I would assume you get a new certificate.

I am leaning towards taking the ICND. The problem is all of my materials cover the entire 801 exam. Any suggestions on what topics to focus on?

Thanks everyone!
  • Options
    wildfirewildfire Member Posts: 654
    Recertification does not yeild a new certificated. The 801 or the 811 would recertify you. The 811 option is certainly the easier one, also have you considered doing a 642 exam (like a CCNP level one) this would also recertify you for another 3 years whilst putting you on your way towards another cert.

Either way good luck
    Looking for CCIE lab study partnerts, in the UK or Online.
  • Options
    Really? You don't get a new certitficate? What about the exp date printed on it?
  • Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    You do get a new certificate with the new expiration date printed on it, at least I did almost three years ago.
  • Options
    tuscanituscani Member Posts: 121
    Cool

I have decided to focus my studies on the 811 instead of the 801. The topics I am focusing on are as follows:

ISDN
    Subnetting\VLSM
    VLANs
    VTP
    STP
    Frame Relay