Options

Technician Support in School and Educational Institution

KAEW 1KAEW 1 Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I need advice from you. I don't have any experience in the real work environment on IT. I'm new resident in Canada anyway I have a permanent residency and live here for five years. I have a Master degree in Education that is accredited from WES (World Education Service in Canada to have equipvalency to Master Degree in Canada. I also have ten years of teaching Experiences in Teaching English as a Foreign Language from my country of origin. It is very hard for me to land my permanent job in the field that I have experienced . So I decide to change my Career to a Computer. I hope I could find one job to be just technicain support in Educational Institution or for some school board in my community. I live in Gatineau, Quebec clost to Ottawa just across the bridge.I still love teaching and want to be in educational environment. I apply for a job in many places but I have not even interview. Now I just stay home study in my own lab after apending one year in technical school in Ottawa and plan to get cert on MCSA at the end of this year. Do you have any advice for me to start my first job? I hope to get it in Winter Semester somewhere. Do you have any ideas to help me?

Comments

• Options
    bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
    Hey! Welcome to Canada!

You have a M.Ed. and you cant find teaching job in Canada? That's odd....Have you tried other district school boards in Ontario? I know that alot of the smaller towns surrounding Ottawa is actually paying teachers from Toronto extra money because not alot of teachers want to go up there.

Anyway, about your IT situation, about how about combining your IT knowledge with your education interest? ALOT of high schools will want to hire teachers with IT experience because they can become the system administrator......

Good luck!
    Jack of all trades, master of none
  • Options