Zone delegation problem

!30!30 Member Posts: 356
Hello to all !

I'm preparing for my 70-291 exam , I work in a lab , with 2 computer's (home lab) , I have an computer with windows 2003 server Enterprise edition on it , and the another one , has windows XP , and a virtual PC with windows 2003 server enteprise edition.

I have created a domain name " domain.ro " , on the virtual machine , ( computer 1 ) and deplyed it with DNS server role ( its the first DC to ) , and ( zone intergated in AD ).The another computer ( computer 2 ) with windows 2003 seerver to , I join it to the domain ( " domain.ro " where the DC is computer 1 ).I make it an DNS to ( with a forward and reverse lookup this one is a secondry zone , and computer 1 is the primary zone ).That's all good I replcaited from the root master the primry zone , on computer 1.

I dont really udnerstand what zone delegation mean's ? What I do was creating on the DNS server on computer 1 a new forward zone named zone.domain.ro .. and delegated it on DC computer 1.. and the ping cmputer1.zone.domain.ro .. and computer2.zone.domain.ro .. form both computer each other and worked.. but I really don't understand what is the porpuse of zone delegation.. I read the definition and know how to make a zone delegation but I don't understand the point..

Maybe somone can explain me , Thanks in advance to all !
Optimism is an occupational hazard of programming: feedback is the treament. (Kent Beck)

Comments

• royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    All Active Integrated zones are Primary Zones. If you configured your 1st Domain Controller with DNS (required), that DNS server is an Active Directory Integrated zone. If you have a second domain controller, you're not going to have a secondary copy of the Active Directory Zone. That's the beauty of Active Directory Integrated zones, all Domain Controllers with DNS will have a read/write copy (primary) of the Active Directory Integrated Zone.