Options

VLAN questions

darwinismdarwinism Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
Since I come from an ISP background I have very little experience with VLANs. Lets say I have a switch with 3 VLANs. I also have a router connected to the switch. Since you can't assign more than one VLAN to an interface, except for VLAN trunking, would I need to trunk the port that goes to my router so that the 3 VLAN's can communicate with the gateway router? Then use subinterfaces on the router? This is known as router on a stick. The reason I am asking is that my gateway router is a non-cisco router, with the rest of my lab behind it and I am not sure if the router supports subinterfaces much like the cisco does. Any help will be appreciated.
If you are living in the Columbus, OH area and studying for the CCNA click the following link.

CCNA looking for study partners in Columbus, OH

Comments

• Options
    garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    Typicaly a inner Cisco switch network you need to trunk ports with multiple VLANS to each other to communicate, however I don't know what kind of setup you have. My router doesn't dole out IP's, my smart switches do that and they need certain trunk ecapsulations to see one another. What kind of router do you have?
  • Options
    darwinismdarwinism Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Its a linux based router called mikrotik. I have 3 VLAN assigned to a 2924 switch, I didnt think the VLANs would be able to access the internet via the gateway router if the router wasnt a member of the VLAN. Maybe the question I am trying to ask is, can VLAN'ed ports on a switch talk to other ports on the switch that are not VLAN based? I am not doleing out IP's everything is static, I just need them to get out to the internet. I also dont want the VLANs to be able to communicate to each other.

Internet
    Gateway Router
    2924 Cisco switch