Options

Starting CISSP

garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
Just bought "Mike Myers Passport for CISSP". It's a pretty light book, I just read the first chapter and I wish I would have started this certification process earlier, I am very interested in it. I thought about doing Sec+ or SCCP first but I figured if I am going to spend the time studying, might as well get the top dog cert. This certification makes great sense with the practices it stresses and is something I have been doing for a few years now. I am not sure how long it will take me to be ready, but it will be easier for me to prepare as it is something that I actualy enjoy to read. :D I have the experience and will have my CEO write the document needed to gain the cert after the test.

Comments

• Options
    keatronkeatron Member Posts: 1,213 ■■■■■■□□□□
    garv221 wrote:
    Just bought "Mike Myers Passport for CISSP". It's a pretty light book, I just read the first chapter and I wish I would have started this certification process earlier, I am very interested in it. I thought about doing Sec+ or SCCP first but I figured if I am going to spend the time studying, might as well get the top dog cert. This certification makes great sense with the practices it stresses and is something I have been doing for a few years now. I am not sure how long it will take me to be ready, but it will be easier for me to prepare as it is something that I actualy enjoy to read. :D I have the experience and will have my CEO write the document needed to gain the cert after the test.

I like your can do attitude and look foward to helping you out as much as possible here, but please take my advice and know that you'll need more than the Myers passport to pass this exam. A common study base is The Official Guide from ISC2, Shon Harris all-in-one, Vines and Krutz. Then you'll also need to supplement your weak areas with topic specific materials. Good luck to ya. Study hard and you'll be fine.

Keatron
  • Options