Options

Funny story about a job....

MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
....So I worked at a company at the end of last year, I worked as a PC Repair technician. Plus, because I am still young (21) I was kind of the B.I.T.C.H.

I had to make deliveries and other odd jobs around the office.

So, I was on contract working for these people. When my contract was up, obviously, I had to leave. When I was about to leave they said "When you see another computer job advertised, please apply". I wasn't strictly hired on as a PC Repair Tech. At the time I didn't have any certs... so it was more of a trail.

Two weeks ago I was the job in the local paper. So I though, I'd send in my resume and see what they say.

Just keep in mind, the job duties are:

Taking phone calls;
Dealing with customers;
Setting appointments at customer locations;
Hardware and software troubleshooting;
Upgrading Hardware and Software.

As you can see, a basic (entry leval) position.
I know the office manager in the business, so I emailed them to see how my application was going.

I had an e-mail back yesterday saying

"Actually, we have hired an MCSE and we're still looking for someone else. We are conducting interviews in the next two weeks"

So, an MCSE is taking a basic entry leval job.
If I was an MCSE I'd want something a lot more.... challenging.

I'd rather sit in an office all day with about 30 - 70 employees and manage the network, users and servers.

I'm sure that's what a lot of MCSE's on here actually do.

Sorry about this, just venting.
2017 Certification Goals:
CCNP R/S

Comments

• Options
    bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
    Yup, that is very common. I still see a lot of job postings that lists "MCP/MCSE" as a requirement for PC Technician.

I am guessing their HR department never caught up with the fact that there's now MCDST, and MCSA in the line of Microsoft Certifications.
    Jack of all trades, master of none
  • Options