Options

MCAD Advice

greatchapgreatchap Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Guys,

I want to pursue MCAD Certification.

I am an accomplished VB 6 developer with few years exp. But I have 6 months experience in .NET only.

I want to do VB.NET + ASP.NET & SQL Server which are the req of MCAD (Ado.NET maybe req as well).

So apart from microsoft books for mcad what resources should i consult to. Moreover how long will it take me to clear each paper.

Can anyone also tell me if i should do VB.NET with windows first or VB.NET for web applications as my first paper.

I checkout the microsoft site. It says -

I need to pass Core Exams (Two Exams Required) and 1 Elective exam.

In elective exam i can give sql server 2000 and thats okay.

But in core exam i have to choose

1 . Developing and Implementing Web Applications with Microsoft Visual Basic .NET and Microsoft Visual Studio .NET

OR

Developing and Implementing Windows-based Applications with Microsoft Visual Basic .NET and Microsoft Visual Studio .NET

2. Developing XML Web Services and Server Components with Microsoft Visual Basic .NET and the Microsoft .NET Framework

So if i do developing web applications and windows applications with vb.net and sql exam then i may not get MCAD becoz i also need to fulfill XML web services exam.

Any advice please ?

Thanks,
JG

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    greatchap wrote:
    I am an accomplished VB 6 developer with few years exp. But I have 6 months experience in .NET only.
    I believe that two years of experience is recommended. However, it really depends on how well your understand the material.
    greatchap wrote:
    I want to do VB.NET + ASP.NET & SQL Server which are the req of MCAD (Ado.NET maybe req as well).
    Yes, anytime you are dealing with SQL Server or ASP.NET you should assume that ADO.NET knowledge will be required.
    greatchap wrote:
    So apart from microsoft books for mcad what resources should i consult to.