Options

Take this opportunity?

My uncle works for GM and said he might be able to get me in over there as a line worker. As some of you know I cannot get a decent job anywhere in Michigan as of yet computer related. I have been to a few interviews with no success. I have a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science and a A+ certification. Plus I'm almost done with my MCP. Here's my dilemma I can work at GM building Cadillac’s for $21 an hour or continue to hope I find a job in my industry. The contract with GM is for one year and my uncle seems to think this would be a great opportunity for me as he started out this way in 85’ and now is a engineer for GM.The pay is great no doubt but being out of industry for a year will look bad won’t it? Need some insight. My school bills are due in October so I need something soon..

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you're only looking for full time permanent non contract tech jobs which pay high wages, that might be where your problem is. You are likely going to have to take a temp to perm situation starting out in IT these days.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • Options
    dan87951dan87951 Member Posts: 107
    Im looking for anything as long as it pays at least 14-15 an hour which I think is fair. Im looking for contract or temporary work. I was not unreasonable at all for the postions that I applied for.
  • Options
    Have you gotten any contacts back for the jobs you have applied for? What jobs have you applied for?